The Proceedings of the VLDB Endowment (PVLDB)

publishes papers written in the "conference-style", with a rapid turnaround review process. The first issue appeared in 2008, and comprised research papers accepted for presentation at VLDB 2008. PVLDB is a publication of the Very Large Database Endowment. Please see a quick overview description of this new publication model or a more detailed FAQ. An older publication lays out the vision and rationale for this new publication, including an ultimate objective of a more comprehensive "Journal of Data Management Research."

There are 12 submission deadlines a year that correspond to month boundaries. (Until Volume 7, associated with VLDB 2014, the deadline was set to 5 a.m. Pacific Time on the first day of each month. Beginning Volume 8, associated with VLDB 2015, the deadline is 11.59 p.m. Pacific Time on the last day of each month.) Note that this is a new, alternative, review process, offered in parallel with the traditional review process for VLDB. The primary benefits of choosing this process over the traditional one is that unreasonable referee reviews may be rebutted, and at the same time good reviewer suggestions may be adopted, in preparing a revised version of the manuscript before the final acceptance/rejection decision is made.

Founding Editor-in-Chief: H. V. Jagadish
Managing Editor: Divesh Srivastava
Information Director: Gerald Weber
Advisory Committee: H. V. Jagadish, RenÚe J. Miller, M. Tamer ─zsu, Kian-Lee Tan, Michael B÷ehlen, Susan Davidson, S. Sudarshan, Gerhard Weikum
Guest Editors for Volume 1, 2008: Peter Buneman, Beng Chin Ooi, Kenneth Ross, Gerald Weber
Guest Editors for Volume 2, 2009: Serge Abiteboul, Tova Milo, Jignesh Patel, Philippe Rigaux
Guest Editors for Volume 3, 2010: Elisa Bertino, Paolo Atzeni, Kian Lee Tan, Yi Chen, Y. C. Tay
Guest Editors for Volume 4, 2010/2011: JosÚ Blakeley, Joseph M. Hellerstein, Nick Koudas, Wolfgang Lehner, Sunita Sarawagi, Uwe R÷hm
Editor-in-Chief for Volume 5, 2011/2012: Z Meral Ozsoyoglu
Associate Editors for Volume 5, 2011/2012: Gustavo Alonso, Ugur Cetintemel, Nilesh Dalvi, Juliana Freire, Hank Korth, Ahmet Sacan, Nesime Tatbul, Anthony Tung
Editor-in-Chief for Volume 6, 2012/2013: Michael B÷hlen, Christoph Koch
Associate Editors for Volume 6, 2012/2013: Ashraf Aboulnaga, Sihem Amer-Yahia, Chee Yong Chan, Yanlei Diao, Ada Waichee Fu, Johannes Gehrke, Alon Halevy, Jayant Haritsa, Nikos Mamoulis, Thomas Neumann, Dan Olteanu, Divesh Srivastava, Jens Teubner, Stefan Manegold
Editor-in-Chief for Volume 7, 2013/2014: H. V. Jagadish, Aoying Zhou
Associate Editors for Volume 7, 2013/2014: Shivnath Babu, Lei Chen, Graham Cormode, Bin Cui, Wynne Hsu, Martin Kersten, Donald Kossman, Elke Rundensteiner, Kyuseok Shim, Wang-Chiew Tan, Letizia Tanca, Jeffrey Yu, Gao Cong, Jens Dittrich, Zachary Ives.
Editor-in-Chief for Volume 8, 2014/2015: Chen Li, Volker Markl
Editor-in-Chief for Volume 9, 2015/2016: Surajit Chaudhuri, Jayant Haritsa
Editor-in-Chief for Volume 10, 2016/2017: Peter Boncz, Ken Salem
Editor-in-Chief for Volume 11, 2017/2018: Jian Pei, Sihem Amer-Yahia

A goal of PVLDB is to raise acceptance rates above those of traditional conference review, while accepting papers of quality at least as good or better. [As explained in the vision document, this "magic" is possible on account of the revision process].